Our Boards

Board of Direction

Each supporting classis of the Reformed Church in America appoints two representatives to serve on the Board of Direction (one clergy and one lay). A supporting classis is one that agrees to encourage its member churches to support Words of Hope financially and through regular prayer, and to receive an annual report form Words of Hope at regular scheduled classis meetings. The duties of the members of the Board of Direction are: to pray for and promote the work of Words of Hope, especially within their respective classes and congregations; to elect Trustees and Officers for Words of Hope; and to approve the annual budget.

Board of Trustees

The business and affairs of Words of Hope are managed by a Board of up to twenty-four trustees. The Board of Direction elects the Trustees at their annual meeting.


Rev. Jon Opgenorth, President (ex officio)
Dr. James Bultman
Dr. Ruggles Church
Mrs. Michelle Christy
Mr. Charles Damon
Rev. Jonathan Elgersma
Mrs. Marcia Elgersma
Rev. Mark Heijerman (Secretary)
Mrs. Susan Kuiper
Mr. Ed Mol (Finance Chair)
Rev. Dr. Steven Petroelje (Chair)
Mr. Skip Pylman (Vice Chair)
Mrs. Cheryl Schregardus
Rev. Jon Sherrill
Mr. Willie Si
Ms. Beth Snyder
Mr. Dennis TenClay

Honorary Trustees

Dr. William Brownson, President Emeritus
Mrs. Marjorie Maas
Dr. Gordon VanWylen